mok0's world

Oneiric on the Dell Mini 10: Nope

Posted in Dell Mini 10, Ubuntu by mok0 on January 28, 2012

A couple of months ago, I downloaded the Ubuntu 11.10 installer and put it on an USB stick. Judging from the discussions on the net, I might be one of the only people on the planet who actually *like* Unity, and I was really looking forward to getting it on my netbook. In my opinion, Oneiric Ocelot is a terrific release. I have it on my workstation and I like it a lot.

Unfortunately, the install on my miserable Dell Mini 10 failed. It dies and freezes. Frustration. I wanted to blog about it, but didn’t get around it until now. So here is what happens. The following screenshots were taken with my smartphone, that is the only way I could make screendumps.

Shortly after the Ubuntu 11.10 screen, with the five dots, the following appears:

After some seconds the purple background color turns black:

… and then the booting process shuts down:

I have no idea what’s going on, but it seems to have something to do with the wireless driver. Next thing to try is to boot while the Dell Mini 10 is wired to the network.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Paolo Sammicheli said, on January 28, 2012 at 21:40

    Strange! I’ve a Dell Mini 10 and it works with the 11.10 perfectly since the Alphas version (I do testing for Ubuntu)
    Open a bug and subscribe me please (I’m xdatap1 on launchpad)

  2. David McCall said, on January 29, 2012 at 03:23

    I had the same issue with my Dell Mini 10. I found this:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=11356431&postcount=4605

    With this guy’s modified Ubuntu I got 11.10 installed and running.

  3. David McCall said, on January 29, 2012 at 07:14

    One thing I forgot in the last post is the method found by “Lucazade” gets Ubuntu 11.10 working on the Dell Mini 10 but there are a couple of issues. You said you like Unity. The Unity 3D does not work but you can use the Unity 2D. Apparently this is something to do with th GMA500 limitations. Even with the Unity 2D I was getting weird issues on the Mini 10 like ghost/invisible icons and things like that. I got Ubuntu 11.10 working nicely using Gnome Classic desktop. I know that is not what you were looking for but it did get me past the installation issues you were having.

  4. Fitoschido said, on January 29, 2012 at 15:08

    Strange, for me it works like a charm…

  5. mok0 said, on January 29, 2012 at 17:04

    I guess I need to clarify my post. My Mini 10 runs Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx), which it does just fine. I probably could upgrade, but then I’d have to go through all the interim releases.

    What doesn’t work is when I boot up the machine from the downloaded Oneiric install image on the USB stick.

  6. David McCall said, on January 29, 2012 at 23:43

    Interesting that it works for others on the mini 10. I wonder if it was the way I was trying to set it up. I was installing to an external USB hard drive. That is so I can dual boot with windows xp. The 160GB internal drive is too small to share so the external 500 gives Linux lots of room to play. The Ubuntu 10.04 worked fine for me. When I tried to install 11.10 I got the same problem as Moko and the install would hang up exactly as in their screenshots above. It was on a fresh install and not an upgrade. My Linux knowledge is very limited so I am clueless as to what the cause is. I just dug around the net till I found a workaround. Now I am tempted to redo it to figure out what was happening….

  7. David McCall said, on January 31, 2012 at 00:16

    Alrighty then… I don’t have any explanation for only some of us getting a hang-up during the install on the Mini 10. I downloaded the 11.10 Alternate installation ISO image. The only difference is it uses a text-based installation versus the graphical install. It installed fine to an external USB hard drive. So the Ubuntu 11.10 normal distro does run fine on the Mini 10 for me now. I am running the Unity 3D and it is fine. Not getting any of the weird issues I described above. Mok0, I hope this helps….It might get it running for you too.

    I have the GPS card on mine. Any chance that could have anything to do with the reason some people can install with no bumps and others have issues like Mok0? Is that on all mini 10’s?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

